The Distinguished Citizen Award Gala & 115th Annual Dinner 

April 19, 2018

Views from 110

at 110 The Embarcadero, the Club's new permanent home 

Opened in September 2017, our new LEED Gold building sits right on the historic Embarcadero, with sweeping views of the Bay and Bay Bridge from every level. Every year, the Club celebrates honorees who provided strong and ethical leadership in their fields. This year we laud the achievements of distinguished citizens from various sectors, including government, technology, education and philanthropy.

A tented, outdoor cocktail reception and awards ceremony will be followed by four simultaneous dinner events, one on each level of the new Commonwealth Club. 

5pm- Cocktail Hour 

6pm- Award Ceremony


Attire: Business Chic



Dr. Mary G.F. Bitterman
Dr. Mary G.F. Bitterman
President of The Bernard Osher Foundation, Former President and CEO of KQED Public Broadcasting and Chairman of PBS Foundation
Leon Panetta
Leon Panetta
Co-founder of the Panetta Institute for Public Policy, former Secretary of Defense, Director of the CIA, White House Chief of Staff and U.S. Representative
Sylvia Marie Panetta
Sylvia Marie Panetta
Co-Chair and CEO of The Panetta Institute for Public Policy
Dr. John L. Hennessy
Dr. John L. Hennessy
Board Chair of Alphabet and 10th President of Stanford University
Nancy E. Pfund
Nancy E. Pfund
Founder and Managing Partner, DBL Partners

Purchase tickets today!

Parking is limited in various local parking garages; public transportation, Lyft or Uber are highly encouraged. 


Thank You To Our Generous Sponsors! 

Premier Presenting Sponsors 

Grand Sponsors 
Chuck & Nan Geske
Pitch and Cathy Johnson
Eric & Wendy Schmidt

Dinner Sponsors
San Francisco 49er's
William H. Draper III
John & Marcia Goldman
Hon. James C. Hormel & Michael P. Nguyen

Leadership Sponsors 
Blue Shield of California
Evelyn & John Dilsaver
Lata Krishnan & Ajay Shah
Skip & Frankie Rhodes
Richard Rubin & Marcia Smolens

Benefactor Sponsors 
Dr. Mary G.F. Bitterman
Jaleh Daie Ph.D. 
Dorian Daley & Michael Krautkramer
DBL Partners
Deloitte & Touche LLP 
Dominican University
Dr. Gloria Duffy & Hon. Rod Diridon, Sr. 
Ernst & Young LLP
John & Tawnie Farmer
Nancy Pfund & Phillip Polakoff
Martha & Greg Ryan
Hon. Tad Taube and Dianne Taube
Hon. Ellen Tauscher
University of San Francisco
Diane B. Wilsey
Mark & Jessica Zitter


Gala Committee Members
Evelyn Dilsaver, Chair
Anna Mok
Don Wen 
Dr. Gloria Duffy
Jaleh Daie, Ph.D.
Martha Ryan
Richard Rubin
Skip Rhodes
Ted Rice

This event is a smoke free event*