84th Annual California Book Awards Ceremony

The Book Awards is sponsored by Bank of the West.

Since 1931, The Commonwealth Club has honored the Golden State’s literary giants at the California Book Awards. At our special awards ceremony, we will bestow Gold and Silver medals in several categories, including fiction, non-fiction, first fiction, poetry, young adult and juvenile.  Come hear from some of California’s most gifted writers. See you at the ceremony!

GOLD MEDALS Awarded to: 
FICTION: An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine, Grove Press
FIRST FICTION: Waiting for the Electricity by Christina Nichol, The Overlook Press
NONFICTION: The Crusades of Cesar Chavez by Miriam Pawel, Bloomsbury Press
POETRY: The Feel Trio by Fred Moten, Letter Machine Editions
JUVENILE: The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm, Random House Books for Young Readers
YOUNG ADULT: Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero, Cinco Puntos Press
CONTRIBUTION TO PUBLISHING: The Heyday of Malcolm Margolin by Kim Bancroft, Heyday Books 

CALIFORNIANA: San Francisco’s Jewel City: The Panama-Pacific International Exposition of 1915 by Laura A. Ackley, Heyday Books 

SILVER MEDALS Awarded to: 
FICTION: Orfeo by Richard Powers, W. W. Norton 
FIRST FICTION: The Un-Americans by Molly Antopol, W. W. Norton 
NON FICTION: Deep Down Dark by Hector Tobar, Farrar, Straus and Giroux