Image - Commonwealth Club logo


The 82nd Annual California Book Awards

Since 1931, the California Book Awards have honored literary excellence among authors in the Golden State. At our special awards ceremony, we will bestow gold and silver medals in several categories, including: fiction, nonfiction, first fiction, poetry, young adult, juvenile, Californiana and contribution to publishing. Hear from some literary giants and amazing writers. See you at the ceremony!

Winning authors confirmed to attend thus far:

Gold Medalists 
FICTION: Adam Johnson: The Orphan Master's Son, Random House
FIRST FICTION:  Jennifer duBois: A Partial History of Lost Causes, Random House
NONFICTION: Victoria Sweet: God’s Hotel: A Doctor, A Hospital, and A Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine, Riverhead Books
JUVENILE: Katherine Applegate: The One and Only Ivan, Harper Collins
YOUNG ADULT:  Morgan Matson: Second Chance Summer, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
CONTRIBUTION TO PUBLISHING: Ken and Melanie Light: Valley of Shadows and Dreams, Heyday Press

Silver Medalists
FIRST FICTION: Mariah K. Young: Masha'allah and Other Stories, Heyday Press
NONFICTION: Anne-Marie O'Connor: The Lady in Gold. The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt's Masterpiece, Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer, Alfred A. Knopf
YOUNG ADULT: Marissa Moss: A Soldier’s Secret: The Incredible True Story of Sarah Edmonds, a Civil War Hero, Amulet Books


Part of the Good Lit Series, underwritten by The Bernard Osher Foundation.

Special thanks to Dr. Martha Cox and the late Ambassador Bill Lane for their generous endowment, allowing the California Book Awards to take place.

In partnership with the Bank of the West.

June 6, 2013

The Commonwealth Club of California
595 Market St.
San Francisco, 94102
United States