Member-Led Forum

Humanities

The Humanities Member-Led Forum focuses on ideas and experiences in history, biography, philosophy and literature which shed light on issues of current interest to the membership and the community.

Become more involved in Club programming by  to join a forum today!

Upcoming Events

Socrates Café

Date: Mon, February 27, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Discussion group


Ben Franklin Circles

Date: Wed, March 01, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Discussion group


Image - Elizabeth Cobbs

The Hamilton Affair

Date: Thu, March 02, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

The love story behind the controversial Revolutionary-era leader


Images - Judges Lillian Sing and Julie Tang

Building a Memorial to the Comfort Women

Date: Wed, March 08, 2017
Time: 12:00 PM

The legacy of sexual slavery


Image - Mark Twain and George Hammond

Mark Twain's Funny Fight for Free Will

Date: Mon, March 13, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Twain's twilight struggle


Image - detail from The Prose Edda book cover

Humanities West Book Discussion: The Prose Edda, by Jesse Byock

Date: Wed, March 15, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Gods and giants and dwarves and elves — what's not to like?


Socrates Café

Date: Mon, March 20, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Discussion group


Image - Sheila Melvin and Jindong Cai

Beethoven in China

Date: Tue, March 21, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

How Beethoven became a cultural icon in China


Image - Marty Brounstein

The Courage and Compassion to Do the Right Thing

Date: Tue, March 28, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Image - Strauss

How Leaders Can Gain Competitive Advantage Through Lessons from History

Date: Thu, April 13, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Lessons from generals throughout history
Image - detail of book cover of Cleopatra

Humanities West Book Discussion: Cleopatra, by Stacy Schiff

Date: Wed, April 19, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

The story of one of the most intriguing women in history


Image - Bridget Ford

Bonds of Union

Date: Mon, April 24, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

The tensile strength of national connections


Image - David Dalin

Jewish Justices of the Supreme Court, from Brandeis to Kagan

Date: Tue, April 25, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Jewish justices of the high court


Image - Schiff

The Witches: Salem 1692

Date: Thu, May 04, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Account of Salem witch trials

American Enlightenments: Pursuing Happiness in the Age of Reason

Date: Mon, May 08, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
American Enlightenment and ideals

Rugged Individualism

Date: Tue, May 16, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Why rugged individualism still exists
Image – Detail of Penguin edition of Antony and Cleopatra

Humanities West Book Discussion: Antony and Cleopatra, by William Shakespeare

Date: Wed, May 17, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Book discussion group


Image - Mugambi Jouet

American Exceptionalism and the Rise of Trumpism

Date: Wed, May 24, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Understanding American exceptionalism