Member-Led Forum

Humanities

The Humanities Member-Led Forum focuses on ideas and experiences in history, biography, philosophy and literature which shed light on issues of current interest to the membership and the community.

Become more involved in Club programming by  to join a forum today!

Upcoming Events

Image - Ting

The Universal Stage: A Critique of Empathy

Date: Wed, May 31, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Theater and the expression of self


Image - Beatles

They Say It's Your Birthday

Date: Thu, June 01, 2017
Time: 12:00 PM

The 50th anniversary of Sgt. Pepper's


Image - Alex Filippenko

Frontier Research at UC’s Lick Observatory

Date: Tue, June 06, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

A guide to researching celestial objects


Image - Ben Franklin

Ben Franklin Circles

Date: Wed, June 07, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Ongoing Ben Franklin forum


Image - Clair Brown

Buddhist Economics

Date: Mon, June 12, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Applying Buddhism to economics
Image - Cranna

Opera for Our Time: Bringing New Works to Life

Date: Wed, June 14, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Exploring opera with longtime dramaturg
Image - Socrates Café

Socrates Café

Date: Mon, June 19, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Ongoing Socrates forum


Image - Unger

The Gay Bar in American History

Date: Thu, June 22, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
The history of the gay bar
Image - Ben Franklin

Ben Franklin Circles

Date: Wed, July 05, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Ongoing Ben Franklin forum


Image - Lefty O'Doul

Lefty O'Doul: Baseball's Forgotten Ambassador

Date: Mon, July 10, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
Baseball and Japanese–U.S. relations
Image - Schwartz

The Man Who Lit Lady Liberty: The Extraordinary Rise and Fall of Actor M.B. Curtis

Date: Tue, July 11, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
The Jewish Jackie Robinson of the stage
Image - Socrates Café

Socrates Café

Date: Mon, July 17, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Ongoing Socrates forum


Image - Forman

Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America

Date: Tue, August 08, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
How harsher laws led to injustice
Image - Devlin

Finding Fibonacci

Date: Thu, August 10, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM
The lost legacy of Fibonacci