Member-Led Forum

Humanities

The Humanities Member-Led Forum focuses on ideas and experiences in history, biography, philosophy and literature which shed light on issues of current interest to the membership and the community.

Become more involved in Club programming by  to join a forum today!

Upcoming Events

Image - Ben Franklin Circles logo

Ben Franklin Circles

Date: Wed, December 07, 2016
Time: 6:30 PM

Discussion group


Image - Steven Machtinger

Lamentation and the Limits of Philosophy

Date: Thu, December 08, 2016
Time: 6:00 PM

Mozart and grief


Image - Socrates Café

Socrates Café

Date: Mon, December 19, 2016
Time: 6:30 PM

Image - Socrates Café

Socrates Café

Date: Mon, January 23, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Discussion group


Image - Lauren Leader-Chivee

Crossing the Thinnest Line

Date: Tue, February 07, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

The new world of diversity


Humanities West Book Discussion: The Age of Vikings, by Anders Winroth

Date: Wed, February 15, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Learn more about the Vikings


Image - detail of book cover of The Reporter Who Knew too Much

Media Icon Dorothy Kilgallen: The Reporter Who Knew too Much

Date: Wed, February 22, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

How and why did Dorothy Kilgallen die?


Image - Linda Rugg

The End of the Vikings

Date: Thu, February 23, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

The journey from paganism to Christianity to secularism


Image - Elizabeth Cobbs

The Hamilton Affair

Date: Thu, March 02, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

The love story behind the controversial Revolutionary-era leader


Image - Mark Twain and George Hammond

Mark Twain's Funny Fight for Free Will

Date: Mon, March 13, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Twain's twilight struggle


Image - detail from The Prose Edda book cover

Humanities West Book Discussion: The Prose Edda, by Jesse Byock

Date: Wed, March 15, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

Gods and giants and dwarves and elves — what's not to like?


Beethoven in China

Date: Tue, March 21, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

How Beethoven became a cultural icon in China


Image - Marty Brounstein

The Courage and Compassion to Do the Right Thing

Date: Tue, March 28, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM

Image - detail of book cover of Cleopatra

Humanities West Book Discussion: Cleopatra, by Stacy Schiff

Date: Wed, April 19, 2017
Time: 6:30 PM

The story of one of the most intriguing women in history