Past Winners

California Book Awards

Many familiar names are included on our list of over 400 authors who have won the California Book Award since its inception. Some of the favorites include: John Steinbeck, Wallace Stegner, Diane Johnson, Ray Bradbury, Robert Hass, Kevin Starr, T.C. Boyle, Amy Tan, Jared Diamond, Czeslaw Milosz, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Jill Leovy,C.S. Forester, Michael Chabon, William T. Vollman, Neal Shusterman, Kay Ryan, Ishmael Reed, Khaled Hosseini, Adam Johnson, and many, many more