79th Annual California Book Awards

The 79th Annual California Book Awards

With author and Litquake Co-director Jane Ganahl as master of ceremonies

Please join The Club for a fun and exciting evening honoring California's best writers. Through the California Book Awards, an 80-year tradition, The Commonwealth Club celebrates the state's top authors with an awards ceremony and gala reception. This year's winners include Yiyun Li (The Vagrants), Rebecca Solnit (A Paradise Built in Hell) and William T. Vollmann (Imperial) as well as many others. For a complete list of winners, click here . Don't miss out on this fascinating conversation among some of our generation's best authors. This very special evening begins with a pre-reception at 5:15 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 6:00 p.m. Following the ceremony at 7:30 will be a delicious wine and dessert reception. Mingle with the authors, who will also be available to sign books and discuss their work. 

Location: SF Club Office
Time: 5:15 p.m. pre-event reception, 6 p.m. awards ceremony, 7:30 p.m. book signing
Cost: $15 members, $20 non-members
Also know: Special thanks to Dr. Martha Cox and Ambassador Bill Lane for their generous endowment, allowing the California Book Awards to take place. Sponsored by Bank of the West