Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of The Commonwealth Club reflects the strong commitment among Bay Area leaders to the Club's public affairs role. Members of the board are affiliated with a wide variety of business and civic organizations.

Board members oversee the Club's activities through a number of committees, working closely with the president and CEO and the Club's staff.

The board chair serves for two years. Evelyn Dilsaver is the current chair of the Board of Governors. The board is comprised of 51 members. Past presidents and past chairs of the Club's board also sit on the board as voting members for three years following their leadership tenure, then for life as nonvoting members of the board.

Board Leadership

Board Chair

Evelyn Dilsaver
Independent Board Director

Board Vice Chair

Martha Ryan
Co-Founder, Daric Inc.; Former Trustee and President, The California State Summer School for the Arts Foundation


Dr. Jaleh Daie
Managing Partner, Aurora Equity LLC


John Farmer
Retired General Partner, Goldman Sachs & Co.

President and Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Gloria C. Duffy
The Commonwealth Club of California

Board of Governors

Robert E. Adams
Engineer, Google

Willie Adams
President, International Longshore and Warehouse Union; Vice President, The San Francisco Port Commission

Scott Anderson
Chief Economist, Bank of the West 

Dan Ashley
Anchor, ABC7 News

Dr. Mary G. F. Bitterman (Past Board Chair)
President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

John L. Boland
President Emeritus, KQED

Charles M. Collins
President & CEO, YMCA of San Francisco

Mary B. Cranston (Past Board Chair)
Retired Senior Partner, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Susie Cranston
Senior Vice President of Strategic Planning, First Republic Bank

Dr. Kerry P. Curtis
Professor Emeritus, Ageno School of Business, Golden Gate University

Dorian Daley
Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Oracle Corporation

James Driscoll
Privacy and Transparency Lead, Google

Joseph I. Epstein (Past Board President)
President, Sierra Steel Trading LLC

Jeffrey A. Farber
CEO, Koret Foundation

Dr. Carol A. Fleming
Principal, The Sound of Your Voice

Leslie Saul Garvin
Postgraduate Public Service Assistant Director, Haas Center for Public Service, Stanford University

Mary Huss
Publisher, San Francisco Business Times

Lata Krishnan 
Principal, Shah Capital Partners LP

Dr. Mary Marcy
President, Dominican University of California

Lenny Mendonca
Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Michelle Meow
Producer and Host, "The Michelle Meow Show"

Anna W.M. Mok
Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP

DJ Patil
Head of Technology, Devoted Health

Bruce Raabe
Founder and President, Relevant Wealth Advisors

Skip Rhodes (Past Board President)
President, Skip Rhodes and Associates LLC

Bill Ring
Senior Vice President, Investment Counselor and Regional Director, Capital Group Private Client Services

George M. Scalise
Private Investor

Charlotte Mailliard Shultz
Chief of Protocol, City and County of San Francisco and State of California

George D. Smith Jr.
President and Publisher, Signature Books

David Spencer
Founder, SenSpa

James Strother
Senior Executive VP and General Counsel (retired), Wells Fargo & Company

Hon. Tad Taube
Founder and Chairman, Taube Investments; Founder and Chairman, Taube Philanthropies; Honorary Consul, Poland

Marcel TenBerge
Bank of America/Merrill Lynch

Charles Travers
Businessman and Investor

Don Wen
Operations Leader, PwC’s Private Company Services

Dr. Colleen B. Wilcox
Former Superintendent of Schools, Santa Clara County; Colleen Wilcox Sculpture 

Brenda Wright
Senior Vice President & Director of Community Relations (West Region), Wells Fargo & Co.

Mark Zitter
Chair, The Zetema Project

Past Board Chairs and Presidents

* Past Chair
** Past President

Dr. Mary G. F. Bitterman*
J. Dennis Bonney**
Maryles Casto*
Hon. Ming Chin**
Mary B. Cranston*
Joseph I. Epstein**
John Farmer*
Rose Guilbault*
Claude B. Hutchison Jr.**
Anna W.M. Mok*
Richard Otter**
Joseph Perrelli**
Toni Rembe**
Victor J. Revenko**
Skip Rhodes**
Renée Rubin**
Richard Rubin*
Connie Shapiro**
Nelson Weller**
Judith Wilbur**
Dennis Wu**