Past Trips

From Tokyo to Kyoto
Wed, March 23, 2016 - Mon, April 04, 2016

Our 13-day journey begins in Tokyo. Experience the Shinto Meiji Shrine and historic Imperial Palace. Visit Mt. Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park and see the magnificent Mt. Fuji. Spend the night in Suwa at a ryokan, a traditional Japanese inn.

Travel to lovely Takayama and...

Sand Dunes, Canyons and Wildflowers
Sun, March 06, 2016 - Fri, March 11, 2016
Explore this magnificent land of extremes with study leader Frank Ackerman, former Death Valley National Park Ranger. Visit Badwater Salt Flats, which at 282 feet below sea level, is the lowest place in the Western Hemisphere and the eighth lowest place on Earth. 

Enjoy a...
Wildlife and Culture Safari
Tue, March 01, 2016 - Sat, March 12, 2016

Immerse yourself in the unspoiled landscapes of Tanzania. Stay at a unique private nature refuge, a model for community-based tourism. Visit homes and talk with pastoral Maasai.  Search for wildlife - lion, elephant, cheetah, giraffe, and rhino in the Serengeti.

Discover the...

Sand Dunes, Canyons and Wildflowers
Sun, February 28, 2016 - Fri, March 04, 2016

Explore this magnificent land of extremes with study leader Frank Ackerman, former Death Valley National Park Ranger. Visit Badwater Salt Flats, which at 282 feet below sea level, is the lowest place in the Western Hemisphere and the eighth lowest place on Earth. 

Enjoy a...

Havana & the Viñales Valley
Mon, February 15, 2016 - Mon, February 22, 2016

Explore old Havana's history and architecture. Meet with tobacco farmers and enjoy a private flamenco performance by some of Cuba's best dancers.

Discuss U.S. foreign policy and economic changes during lectures with local experts.

In the Viñales...

With an Optional Extension to the Temples of Angkor
Thu, February 04, 2016 - Fri, February 19, 2016

Discover Vietnam’s captivating beauty and enduring traditions on this 16-day journey.

Experience the French-accented capital Hanoi; cruise through scenic Ha Long Bay; visit Da Nang’s acclaimed Cham Museum; explore the colorful village of Hoi An; wander through the...

Aboard the M.S. Le Boreal
Tue, January 26, 2016 - Mon, February 08, 2016

Join us for this spectacular 14-day journey featuring a nine-night cruise to Antarctica, Earth’s last frontier. Cruise aboard the exclusively chartered, intimate m.s. Le Boreal, the finest vessel in Antarctic waters, combining innovative design with personalized service and...

Havana and the Vinales Valley
Mon, December 07, 2015 - Mon, December 14, 2015

Through a series of meetings and guest speakers we learn about art, dance, medicine, history, education, religion and the economy. This is an extensive and intense learning experience built on the foundation of meeting Cubans and creating a meaningful exchange of ideas and information. Explore...

From Cape Town to Victoria Falls
Wed, November 04, 2015 - Wed, November 18, 2015

Experience southern Africa, a diverse region poised along a beautiful coastline, breathtaking mountains and expansive plains.  

Take in views from Table Mountain in cosmopolitan Cape Town. Walk in Nelson Mandela’s footsteps on Robben Island. Ascend Cape Point, and see African...

From Istanbul to the Turquoise Coast
Thu, October 15, 2015 - Thu, October 29, 2015

Exotic sights, scents, and sounds reign in this fascinating land where Europe and Asia meet. Turkey engages and beguiles, offering us an unparalleled experience in our small group of only 28 guests. Join Turkey expert, Bonnie Joy Kaslan, San Francisco's Honorary Consul General of Turkey....