Past Trips

From the Imperial Cities to the Sahara
Fri, May 12, 2017 - Thu, May 25, 2017

Travel to the imperial cities of Rabat, Meknes, Fez and Marrakech.

View the ancient Roman ruins at Volubilis; wander the alleys of Fez; visit a Berber Museum; take a sunset camel ride at the edge of the Sahara; and view the spectacular scenery of the High Atlas including the 984-foot...

Aboard the small ship m.s. L'Austral
Sun, April 30, 2017 - Wed, May 10, 2017

Explore Japan and South Korea during a seven-night cruise aboard the small ship m.s. L’Austral along the Inland Sea of Japan, plus two nights in Kyoto.

Visit five UNESCO World Heritage sites. Explore Kyoto’s Nijo Castle; Hiroshima’s Memorial Peace Park; Miyajima...

Paradores and Pousadas
Mon, April 24, 2017 - Mon, May 08, 2017

Experience distinctive lodgings during this two week Iberian sojourn. Explore Lisbon and the National Palace of Queluz. Traverse the Alentejo region of olive groves and vineyards. Discover Evora, a treasure-trove of Portuguese history and architecture, and a UNESCO World Heritage site.

...

Thu, March 23, 2017 - Sun, April 09, 2017

Journey to South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe. From Johannesburg, tour Soweto and the home of the late Nelson Mandela. Experience spectacular Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe and enjoy a rhino safari. Explore Chobe National Park, and marvel at the vast Namib Desert with its towering sand...

Havana, Trinidad & Cienfuegos
Sun, March 12, 2017 - Sun, March 19, 2017

Explore old Havana’s history and architecture. Enjoy a private flamenco performance by some of Cuba’s best dancers. Discuss U.S. foreign policy and economic changes during lectures with thought leaders in the country.

Visit the fantastic Museum of Fine Arts, a private gallery...

Sand Dunes, Canyons and Wildflowers
Sun, February 26, 2017 - Fri, March 03, 2017

Explore this magnificent land of extremes with study leader Frank Ackerman, former Death Valley National Park Ranger.

Visit Badwater Salt Flats (282 feet below sea level) and enjoy a stunning panoramic view of all 11,049 feet of Telescope Peak. Hike through the multi-hued walls of...

Wed, February 08, 2017 - Thu, March 02, 2017

Begin your epic 23-day journey in Cairns. Ride the historic railway to the mountain village of Kuranda. Cruise out to the Great Barrier Reef. Learn about the ancient Walpiri culture. Take a catamaran sail around Sydney Harbor and tour Koala Sanctuary Park.

Fly to New Zealand and explore...

Aboard the Santa Cruz II
Sun, January 29, 2017 - Tue, February 07, 2017

This incredible 10-day journey is a nature lover’s dream. After three nights in Quito, sail five nights aboard Santa Cruz II and visit six distinct islands to observe the exotic birds, animals and plants that inspired Charles Darwin, including species unknown anywhere else in the...

Journey to the End of the Earth
Thu, January 05, 2017 - Tue, January 17, 2017

Join a 13-day expedition to Patagonia during the Southern Hemisphere’s summer, and featuring study leader Dr. Jared Diamond, author of five best-selling books about human societies and human evolution.   

Enjoy a four- night cruise aboard the expedition ship M/V...

Havana & the Viñales Valley
Wed, December 07, 2016 - Wed, December 14, 2016

Explore old Havana's history and architecture. Learn about Cuba's creative and vibrant art scene. Attend a private flamenco performance by some of Cuba's best dancers.

Discuss U.S. foreign policy and economic changes during lectures with local experts.
...