Past Trips

Poland, Hungary, Austria, Slovakia & the Czech Republic
Thu, September 22, 2016 - Sat, October 08, 2016

Begin your 17-day journey in Poland’s capital, Warsaw. Explore the faithfully rebuilt Old Town, and visit the Poline Museum of the History of Polish Jews. Travel south for a guided visit of the Nazi death camp of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Continue to Krakow, and visit the Old Town and Market...

Aboard the M.Y. Variety Voyager
Wed, September 21, 2016 - Thu, September 29, 2016

Discover the fascinating mix of cultures left in the wake of ancient empires while traveling across the historic Mediterranean and Tyrrhenian seas to the resplendent islands of Malta, Sicily and Capri and Italy’s southern coast during the best time of year.

Cruise for seven nights...

From Tokyo to Kyoto
Mon, September 12, 2016 - Sat, September 24, 2016
Our 13-day journey begins in Tokyo. Experience the Shinto Meiji Shrine and historic Imperial Palace. Visit Mt. Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park and see the magnificent Mt. Fuji. Spend the night in Suwa at a ryokan, a traditional Japanese inn.

Travel to lovely Takayama and...
From the Basque Country to Catalonia
Fri, September 09, 2016 - Sun, September 18, 2016

Witness the contrasts of culture, food and wine on a sumptuous journey across northern Spain.

Discover Basque white wine, Cantabrian fish and a local fiesta in San Sebastian. Experience Spain’s best restaurant cellar and dine at Michelin-starred restaurants....

Denmark & Norway (with Sweden Extension)
Sun, July 31, 2016 - Wed, August 10, 2016

Experience Scandinavia’s vibrant cities, stunning fjords, jutting glaciers and crystalline lakes.

In Copenhagen visit Rosenborg Castle, the Opera House, and cruise the city's charming canals. Take a scenic overnight ferry cruise across Oslo Fjord to Oslo. Explore Oslo's...

From the Tundra to the Sea
Sun, July 17, 2016 - Tue, July 26, 2016

In the arctic region of Fairbanks learn about native cultures, and the state’s oil production during a visit to the Alaska Pipeline. Travel by scenic rail to Denali National Park and encounter Alaska’s most famed wildlife - grizzlies, wolves, caribou and moose. Hike, bike and enjoy...

With an Optional Extension to Machu Picchu
Mon, May 23, 2016 - Thu, June 02, 2016

How did the huge basalt statuary come to be erected on remote (and basalt-free) Easter Island? Who was responsible for the intricate patterns, animal figures, and other grand-scale markings in the earth of lines in Nazca, Peru and for what audience and purpose were they created? Why was Machu...

Cuisine, Culture and Contemporary Affairs of the South Caucasus
Sun, May 08, 2016 - Wed, May 18, 2016

Traverse three distinctive countries located on a mountainous strip of land between the Caspian and Black Seas. Meet artists, singers, winemakers and specialists, and experience six UNESCO World Heritage Sites. 

Discover the bold designs of Azerbaijan’s carpets and...

Aboard the Deluxe Small River Ship m.s. Amadeus Elegant
Wed, April 20, 2016 - Thu, April 28, 2016

Sail seven nights aboard an exclusively chartered, deluxe Amadeus river ship when Holland’s breathtaking tulip fields are in bloom.

Visit St. Bavo’s Cathedral in Ghent; take a canal cruise in the UNESCO World Heritage site of medieval Bruges; explore the world...

Havana, Trinidad & Cienfuegos
Sun, April 03, 2016 - Sun, April 10, 2016

Explore old Havana's history and architecture. Visit with artists, and learn about contemporary art in Cuba. Attend a private flamenco performance by some of Cuba's best dancers, and learn about Cuban music during a demonstrative music lecture. Discuss U.S. foreign policy, the media, and...