Archived Trips

Barcelona, Balearic Islands, Granada, Gibraltar, Andalusia & Lisbon Aboard the m.v. Tere Moana
Fri, September 11, 2015 - Sat, September 19, 2015

This unique and exclusive eight-day itinerary and small ship voyage showcases the coastal jewels of the Iberian between Barcelona, Spain, and Lisbon, Portugal, during the best time of year.

Cruise up Spain’s legendary Guadalquivir River, “the great river,” into...

From the Great Wall to the Yangtze
Tue, September 08, 2015 - Mon, September 21, 2015

Traveling in a small group of no more than 24 guests, you’ll have the good fortune to meet local people and to experience a host of China’s highlights, both ancient and of the moment. 

Your 14-day tour begins in 2000-year-old Beijing, China’s modern-day...

Nature and Culture of Appenzell & Engelberg
Tue, August 25, 2015 - Sun, September 06, 2015

Journey to Switzerland, the world’s oldest living democracy and a matchless paradise for walking. Luxuriate in the magnificent views of the Swiss and the Austrian Alps. Discover the village of Appenzell, with its charming houses adorned by murals.

Visit St. Gallen and the...

Bar Harbor, Campobello Island & St. Andrews-by-the-Sea
Wed, July 22, 2015 - Wed, July 29, 2015

Discover the rustic glamour of Bar Harbor, Campobello Island and St. Andrews-by-the-Sea. In Bar Harbor, Maine, visit the Abbe Museum, a Smithsonian affiliate dedicated to the culture and history of the Wabanaki nations. Board a traditional lobster boat and learn about Maine’s lobster...

Istanbul to Athens Aboard Sea Cloud
Sat, June 27, 2015 - Sun, July 05, 2015

Join Commonwealth Club study leaders Rebecca Newberger Goldstein and Steven Pinker, as we experience some of the most important sites from antiquity on an enchanting voyage along the coast of Turkey and through the Greek Isles on the legendary Sea Cloud. Also lecturing on board is Joan...

With Guest Speaker Dwight David Eisenhower II
Wed, May 20, 2015 - Fri, May 29, 2015

Join this unique cruise for eight nights aboard the exclusively chartered, Five-Star small ship m.s. Le Boréal from Honfleur, France, to Ireland, Wales and Scotland.

By special arrangement, University of Pennsylvania Professor Dwight David Eisenhower II, grandson of General...

Minarets & Mosaics
Thu, May 07, 2015 - Thu, May 21, 2015

Join author and journalist Stephen Kinzer on a journey through Iran, where vast monuments serve as testament to the extraordinary history of this country.

Begin in Tehran, where we have scheduled time to explore the country...

From Tokyo to Kyoto
Sat, April 18, 2015 - Thu, April 30, 2015

Japan is a land of delicate art and bustling commerce, of rich traditions and dizzying modernity; a jumble of sights, sounds, and tastes that for visitors are truly foreign – and truly fascinating. This small group tour, limited to just 24 guests, features the highlights of Tokyo and Kyoto...

Havana and the Vinales Valley
Fri, April 10, 2015 - Fri, April 17, 2015

Through a series of meetings and guest speakers we learn about art, dance, medicine, history, education, religion and the economy. This is an extensive and intense learning experience built on the foundation of meeting Cubans and creating a meaningful exchange of ideas and information. Explore...

From the Imperial Cities to the Sahara
Sat, March 07, 2015 - Fri, March 20, 2015

Morocco—a land of dramatic contrasts—invites with its ancient ruins, sacred mosques, lush desert oases, imposing Kasbahs, spirited souks, and villages where life proceeds much as it has for centuries. Our small group tour, limited to just 24 guests, takes us from the imperial cities...