Archived Trips

From the Imperial Cities to the Sahara
Sat, March 07, 2015 - Fri, March 20, 2015

Morocco—a land of dramatic contrasts—invites with its ancient ruins, sacred mosques, lush desert oases, imposing Kasbahs, spirited souks, and villages where life proceeds much as it has for centuries. Our small group tour, limited to just 24 guests, takes us from the imperial cities...

Aboard the Five-Star Small Ship M.V. Tere Moana
Thu, February 26, 2015 - Fri, March 06, 2015

Join us for this spectacular nine-day journey from the Costa Rican rainforest through the mighty locks of the Panama Canal. Cruise for seven nights from Puerto Caldera, Costa Rica, to Colón, Panama, aboard the exclusively chartered, Five-Star m.v. Tere Moana, relaunched in 2013 after a...

Havana, Vinales, Trinidad & Cienfuegos
Mon, February 02, 2015 - Wed, February 11, 2015

Journey to Cuba and discover this fascinating island nation in Commonwealth Club fashion. Through a series of meetings, discussions, and guest speakers we learn about art, dance, history, education, religion and the economy. This is an extensive and intense learning experience built on the...

Aboard the Deluxe M.S. Le Boreal
Mon, January 26, 2015 - Sun, February 08, 2015

Join us for this spectacular 14-day journey featuring a nine-night cruise to Antarctica, Earth’s last frontier. Cruise aboard the exclusively chartered, intimate m.s. Le Boreal, the finest vessel in Antarctic waters, combining innovative design with personalized service and featuring...

Havana and the Vinales Valley
Fri, October 31, 2014 - Fri, November 07, 2014

Through a series of meetings and guest speakers we learn about art, dance, medicine, history, education, religion and the economy. This is an extensive and intense learning experience built on the foundation of meeting Cubans and creating a meaningful exchange of ideas and information. Explore...

Dream Idyll of Southern Waters and Mountains
Sun, October 19, 2014 - Thu, October 30, 2014


Join Study Leader Donald Gibbs and the Commonwealth Club as we explore Southern China's magnificent history and culture, as well as the exquisite landscapes of mountains and waters.  We start in colorful Beijing and discover the stunning imperial architecture of the Temple of...

Minarets & Mosaics
Thu, October 09, 2014 - Thu, October 23, 2014

Join the Commonwealth Club on a journey through Iran, where vast monuments serve as testament to the extraordinary history of this country.

Begin in Tehran, where we have scheduled time to explore the country's capital, including a visit to the basement vault of the Bank Milli...

Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo, Serbia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Croatia
Wed, October 08, 2014 - Tue, October 21, 2014

This overland journey through ancient and modern history tying together six wildly divergent Balkan countries, unveiling an assortment of long-lived cultures along the way. Catholic, Muslim, Orthodox, politically contradictory, and ethnically varied, this kaleidoscopic region offers an...

Incan Treasures & Darwin's Islands
Tue, September 30, 2014 - Tue, October 14, 2014

Begin your journey in Lima, where you’ll visit the Larco Herrera Museum and enjoy a local city tour.  Spend two nights in the Sacred Valley, exploring this region of important Inca sites and indigenous villages.  Travel by train for an unforgettable excursion to Machu Picchu, the...

Rome to Barcelona, Aboard the Five-Star M.V. TERE MOANA
Fri, September 19, 2014 - Sat, September 27, 2014

Cruise with us for seven nights from Rome to Barcelona aboard the exclusively chartered, Five-Star m.v. Tere Moana, relaunched in 2013 after a multimillion-dollar refurbishment and featuring only 45 deluxe Staterooms.

Travel to the sun-drenched landscapes and lush...