Past Trips

Denmark & Norway (with Sweden Extension)
Sun, July 31, 2016 - Wed, August 10, 2016

Experience Scandinavia’s vibrant cities, stunning fjords, jutting glaciers and crystalline lakes.

In Copenhagen visit Rosenborg Castle, the Opera House, and cruise the city's charming canals. Take a scenic overnight ferry cruise across Oslo Fjord to Oslo. Explore Oslo's...

From the Tundra to the Sea
Sun, July 17, 2016 - Tue, July 26, 2016

In the arctic region of Fairbanks learn about native cultures, and the state’s oil production during a visit to the Alaska Pipeline. Travel by scenic rail to Denali National Park and encounter Alaska’s most famed wildlife - grizzlies, wolves, caribou and moose. Hike, bike and enjoy...

With an Optional Extension to Machu Picchu
Mon, May 23, 2016 - Thu, June 02, 2016

How did the huge basalt statuary come to be erected on remote (and basalt-free) Easter Island? Who was responsible for the intricate patterns, animal figures, and other grand-scale markings in the earth of lines in Nazca, Peru and for what audience and purpose were they created? Why was Machu...

Cuisine, Culture and Contemporary Affairs of the South Caucasus
Sun, May 08, 2016 - Wed, May 18, 2016

Traverse three distinctive countries located on a mountainous strip of land between the Caspian and Black Seas. Meet artists, singers, winemakers and specialists, and experience six UNESCO World Heritage Sites. 

Discover the bold designs of Azerbaijan’s carpets and...

Aboard the Deluxe Small River Ship m.s. Amadeus Elegant
Wed, April 20, 2016 - Thu, April 28, 2016

Sail seven nights aboard an exclusively chartered, deluxe Amadeus river ship when Holland’s breathtaking tulip fields are in bloom.

Visit St. Bavo’s Cathedral in Ghent; take a canal cruise in the UNESCO World Heritage site of medieval Bruges; explore the world...

Havana, Trinidad & Cienfuegos
Sun, April 03, 2016 - Sun, April 10, 2016

Explore old Havana's history and architecture. Visit with artists, and learn about contemporary art in Cuba. Attend a private flamenco performance by some of Cuba's best dancers, and learn about Cuban music during a demonstrative music lecture. Discuss U.S. foreign policy, the media, and...

From Tokyo to Kyoto
Wed, March 23, 2016 - Mon, April 04, 2016

Our 13-day journey begins in Tokyo. Experience the Shinto Meiji Shrine and historic Imperial Palace. Visit Mt. Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park and see the magnificent Mt. Fuji. Spend the night in Suwa at a ryokan, a traditional Japanese inn.

Travel to lovely Takayama and...

Sand Dunes, Canyons and Wildflowers
Sun, March 06, 2016 - Fri, March 11, 2016
Explore this magnificent land of extremes with study leader Frank Ackerman, former Death Valley National Park Ranger. Visit Badwater Salt Flats, which at 282 feet below sea level, is the lowest place in the Western Hemisphere and the eighth lowest place on Earth. 

Enjoy a...
Wildlife and Culture Safari
Tue, March 01, 2016 - Sat, March 12, 2016

Immerse yourself in the unspoiled landscapes of Tanzania. Stay at a unique private nature refuge, a model for community-based tourism. Visit homes and talk with pastoral Maasai.  Search for wildlife - lion, elephant, cheetah, giraffe, and rhino in the Serengeti.

Discover the...

Sand Dunes, Canyons and Wildflowers
Sun, February 28, 2016 - Fri, March 04, 2016

Explore this magnificent land of extremes with study leader Frank Ackerman, former Death Valley National Park Ranger. Visit Badwater Salt Flats, which at 282 feet below sea level, is the lowest place in the Western Hemisphere and the eighth lowest place on Earth. 

Enjoy a...