Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of The Commonwealth Club reflects the strong commitment among Bay Area leaders to the Club's public affairs role. Members of the board represent a wide variety of business and civic organizations.

Board members oversee the Club's activities through a number of committees, working closely with the president and CEO and the Club's staff.

The board chair serves for two years. Richard Rubin is the . The board is comprised of 48 members and four officers. Past presidents and past chairs of the Club's board also sit on the board as voting members for three years following their leadership tenure, then for life as non-voting members of the board.

Board Chair

Richard A. Rubin
President, Richard A. Rubin Associates

Vice Chair

Evelyn Dilsaver
Independent Board Director


Dr. Jaleh Daie
Managing Partner, Aurora Equity LLC


John Farmer
Retired General Partner, Goldman Sachs & Co.

President and Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Gloria C. Duffy
The Commonwealth Club of California

Board of Governors

John F. Allen
Chairman, St. Regis Properties

Carlo Almendral
Chief Innovation Officer + Co-Founder, Volo International

Courtland Alves
Specialist in Consumer Mobile and Web Social Applications

Dan Ashley
Anchor, ABC7 News

Massey J. Bambara
North Bay Market President, Bank of America

Dr. Mary G. F. Bitterman (Past Board Chair)
President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

Harry E. Blount
Founder & CEO, DISCERN

John L. Boland
President, KQED

Michael R. Bracco
CEO, Angora Ridge Partners LLC 

Maryles Casto (Past Board Chair)
Founder and CEO, Casto, The Travel Company

Mary B. Cranston (Past Board Chair)
Retired Senior Partner, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Susie Cranston
Senior Vice President of Strategic Planning, First Republic Bank

Dr. Kerry P. Curtis
Professor Emeritus, Ageno School of Business, Golden Gate University

Dorian Daley
Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Oracle Corporation

Lee Dutra
San Francisco Office Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP

Joseph I. Epstein (Past Board President)
President, Sierra Steel Trading LLC

Jeffrey A. Farber
CEO, Koret Foundation

Rev. Paul J. Fitzgerald, S.J.
President, University of San Francisco

Dr. Carol A. Fleming
Principal, The Sound of Your Voice

Kirsten Garen
Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Bank of the West

Leslie Saul Garvin
Postgraduate Public Service Assistant Director, Haas Center for Public Service, Stanford University

John Geschke
Senior Vice President

Paul M. Ginsburg
Retired Executive Vice President, Kendall-Jackson Winery

Hon. James C. Hormel
Former Ambassador to Luxembourg; founder and Chairman, Equidex, Inc.

Mary Huss
Publisher, San Francisco Business Times

Julie Kane
Senior Vice President and Chief Ethics and Compliance O cer for PG&E Corporation

John Leckrone
Director of Venture Development, Adobe Systems, Incorporated

Dr. Mary Marcy
President, Dominican University of California

Frank C. Meerkamp
Managing Director, Accenture

Lenny Mendonca
Director Emeritus McKinsey & Company

Anna W.M. Mok
Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP

Donald J. Pierce
Manager, Corporate and Executive Communications, Chevron Corporation

Bruce Raabe
Founder and President of Relevant Wealth Advisors

Skip Rhodes (Past Board President)
President, Skip Rhodes and Associates, LLC

Bill Ring
Senior Vice President, Investment Counselor and Regional Director for Capital Group Private Client Services

Martha Ryan
President of California State Summer School for the Arts: Co-founder of Daric, Inc.

George M. Scalise
Private Investor

Lata Krishnan Shah
Principal, Shah Capital Partners LP

Dr. Ruth A. Shapiro
Chief Executive, The Centre for Asian Philanthropy and Society

Charlotte Mailliard Shultz
Chief of Protocol, City and County of San Francisco and State of California

George D. Smith, Jr.
President & Publisher, Signature Books

James Strother
Senior Executive VP and General Counsel, Wells Fargo & Company

Hon. Tad Taube
Founder and Chairman, Taube Investments
Honorary Consul, Poland

Ellen O'Kane Tauscher
Former Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs

Charles Travers
Businessman and Investor

Don Wen
Operations Leader for PwC’s Private Company Services

Dr. Colleen B. Wilcox
Former Superintendent of Schools, Santa Clara County

Jed York
President and CEO, San Francisco 49ers

Mark Zitter
Chair, The Zetema Project

Advisory Board

Karin Helene Bauer
Hon. William Bradley
Dennise M. Carter
Rolando Esteverena
Steven Falk
Amy Gershoni
Jacquelyn Hadley
Heather Kitchen
Amy McCombs
Don J. McGrath
Hon. William J. Perry
Hon. Barbara Pivnicka
Hon. Richard Pivnicka
Ray Taliaferro
Nancy Thompson

Past Board Chairs and Presidents

Dr. Mary G. F. Bitterman (Past Chair)
J. Dennis Bonney (Past President)
John Busterud (Past President)
Maryles Casto (Past Chair)
Hon. Ming Chin (Past President)
Mary B. Cranston (Past Chair)
Joseph I. Epstein (Past President)
John Farmer (Past President)
Dr. Joseph R. Fink (Past President)
Rose Guilbault (Past Chair)
Claude B. Hutchison Jr. (Past President)
Dr. Julius Krevans (Past President) (deceased)
Anna W.M. Mok (Past Chair)
Richard Otter (Past President)
Joseph Perrelli (Past President)
Toni Rembe (Past President)
Victor J. Revenko (Past President)
Skip Rhodes (Past President)
Renée Rubin (Past President)
Robert Saldich (Past Chair)
Connie Shapiro (Past President)
Nelson Weller (Past President)
Judith Wilbur (Past President)
Dennis Wu (Past President)